top of page

Next Wave of Realignment Hinges on Pac-12, Says CBS Sports Analyst

Jun 26, 2023

The college landscape will change significantly on July 1 — at least for 14 FBS schools.

Central Florida, Houston, BYU, and Cincinnati will join the Big 12, Charlotte, FAU, North Texas, Rice, UAB, UTSA will move to the American Athletic Conference, and Jacksonville State, Liberty, New Mexico State, and Sam Houston will join Conference USA.

Last summer, USC and UCLA announced plans to leave the Pac-12 for the Big Ten starting in 2024, chasing after the latter’s media rights deals valued at $7 billion.

ESPN has shown little interest in renewing its media rights deal with the Pac-12. More schools could depart the conference if a lucrative rights deal isn’t signed, with Colorado reportedly considering a move to the Big 12.

Source: Front Office Sports

bottom of page